Farewell to fine folks

May marks the beginning of a major change in my workplace.  Our Children’s Librarians, who job-share, are being moved to another location.  We are sad to see them go but wish them loads of luck.  To see them off in style, we are having a nice dinner and presenting them with a token of our appreciation.  So, of course, I made cards! 

My Stampin’ Success magazine, sent to all SU demonstrators, arrived the other day and had some amazing cards in it – as usual – but one in particular that I knew I had to CASE.  Both cards are based on the same template but as both ladies are unique, so are their cards. 

I’ve also made special medals for them.  Each year they encourage hundreds of kids to read and participate in the Summer Reading Club.  The kids are rewarded for their efforts with a nice medal at the end of the summer.  Our branch supervisor mentioned in passing how nice it would be to give the departing Children’s Librarians a medal each for all of their hard work over the years.  So I rose to the task.  What follows is called faux metal.  It involves chipboard, Versamark, silver embossing powder and a couple of stamps!

I borrowed  the branch name stamp on the weekend to make these and after a bit of trial and error, I’m quite pleased with the result.  Unless the ladies take a hairdryer to them, these medals with hold up for years to come.

Like what you see?  Let me know!

“How did it get so late so soon?”  Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

